Faculty of Agric Sc

Welcome to the Faculty

previous arrow
next arrow

I warmly welcome you to our wonderful Faculty, at home in Ekiti State which is an agrarian society.

Agriculture has always been the epi-centre of human knowledge and existence, the first traditional art of livelihood from which food, housing and clothing were obtained. Since the beginning of civilization, agriculture has remained relevant and, naturally, the most important careeer in modern societies. Agricultural courses are arguably the most highly multidisciplinary, requiring natural and social sciences knowledge in biology, chemistry, economics, environmental sciences, business and management.

All the courses in agriculture focus on preparing students for work at private, local, national and international levels, where topics such as sustainability on a global scale and global food systems are taught with specializations and technical skills in crop farming, animal farming, soil resources and environmental management; fish farming and aquaculture practices; raising and domestication of indigenous/exotic wild trees/wildlife, agricultural economics, business, administration and rural sociology.

All these courses and training serve as complements making up the Bachelor of Agriculture degrees in five programmes, Bachelor of Fisheries and Aquaculture Management as well as Bachelor of Forestry and Wildlife Management, Bachelor of Food Science Technology viz:

  1. Agricultural Economics and Extension Services
  2. Animal Science
  • Crop, Horticulture and Landscape Design
  1. Soil Resources and Environmental Management
  2. Fisheries and Aquaculture Management
  3. Forest Resources and Wildlife Management
  • Food Science and Technology

Introduction by the Dean

The Faculty presently comprises six (6) departments housed in two separate buildings, the old Faculty of Agricultural Sciences complex (where we have two of the departments, offices of Heads of Department, academic staff and non-teaching staff) and the new complex, where the offices of the Dean, other Heads of Department, academic staff, non-teaching staff, the laboratories and the technical/technologists are located. We have 54 full-time academic staff with 29 on the Professorial cadre. Our students comprise a vibrant undergraduate population and graduate population. We have six undergraduate programmes, six Masters-level programmes (M.Sc. /M. Phil) and the same number of Doctor of Philosophy degree programmes across all the departments, taught by a first-rate faculty and supported by thoroughbred part-time lecturers and a hard-working set of non-teaching staff. We recently floated a new department – the Food Science and Nutrition Department and was visited by the Accreditation Team from the National Universities Commission for Resource Accreditation of the programme. We await the result to kick start the new programme to make the seventh in the Faculty.


I run an open-door policy and can attend to staff, students and outsiders on issues about our Faculty. My office is the Dean’s Office, Room 208, New Faculty of Agricultural Sciences Building complex. I am honoured to lead the Faculty at this time. I am both eager and excited about the many opportunities that await us in training our students, developing our Faculty and serving the community.

I appreciate your support in the movement.